If you  need to include other users in a task that you are responsible for, you can use the “share task” function to allow other users to collaborate with you. You can invite users to your task with different permissions: view, edit, perform or assign. This function  may be useful if you need input from or college or if you for some reason are unable to perform your task.


In this article we will explain how you share a task and the difference between the permissions settings.


NOTE: This function is not to be confused with the  “replace user” function which is used if the performer won't be able to perform his or her tasks for several instances.

HOW TO SHARE A TASK

  1. Open the task you want to share

  2. Under the “Complete task” button you find the symbol for sharing a task

  3. When you click it  a new window will pop up where you can invite user and what permission you want them to have.

  1. When clicking on “Invite users” the user or group you added will get an email notification about your invite  and can now participate in your task.

 


NOTE: Whatever permission you have chosen, except “Assign”  you will always keep your permissions as well and will be able to complete the task. If you choose “assign” you will lose the performer rights on this and upcoming tasks.

 

NOTE: The share task function can be disable completely or partially via the participant configuration for a specific role.  In that case only an administrator can share the task.

 

PERMISSION RIGHTS WHEN SHARING A TASK

View

If you choose to share the task with View as user right, the invited user can only view the task. The users are restricted to only view the task. When choosing this permission you can invite any user that exists on the space

 

Edit

By sharing a task with the user right to edit the invited user will be able to view and  edit the information in the form and save changes, he or she will not be able to complete the task.  When choosing this permission you can invite any user that exists on the space

 

 

Perform 

If you want another user to be able to view, edit and complete your task you need to give them performer right when sharing your task.  When choosing this permission you can invite any user that exists on the space

 

Assign

If you for some reason can’t perform the task, and won't be able to perform your upcoming task in this instance you can use the “Assign” permission. This will remove your rights to perform this and upcoming tasks in the instance and instead give the invited users the full rights to all tasks. When choosing this permission you can by default only  invite users  that exist in the same role as you and are already assigned the role.


The difference between Assign and Perform permission is:

  1. Perform permission gives another user right to view, edit and complete the task you are sharing , and you will still have the same permissions for this task. The invited user will not have permissions to view, edit or complete upcoming tasks.

 

  1. Assign permission gives another user rights to view, edit and complete the task you are sharing and all upcoming tasks in this instance. You will lose all permissions to this and all upcoming tasks in this instance.

 

ROLE MAPPERS AND SHARE TASK

If  you need to share a task where the performer has been assigned by a role mapper you won’t be able by default to share the task with the “Assign” permissions.  You can only assign the specific role mapped users. If you need to share the task with someone else on the space you can either share the task with “perform” permission or you can allow sharing tasks with all users on the space.  To achieve this you ( someone with administration rights) have to change the settings in the application configuration:

  1. Go to your application configuration and press advanced

  2. Scroll down until you see the checkbox “Allow all space users in assigning performer”

  3. Click and save.

 

The users will now be able to share tasks with assign permissions to anyone on the space



 

SHARE TASK AND USER FILTER

If you have a performers filter activated on your application, e.g Previous performer and you share a task with “performer” permissions. The user filter will outrule the share permissions, so the invited user will get permissions even to upcoming tasks.


NOTE: This also applies if you have a role mapper and previous performer activated. The invited user will get permissions even to upcoming tasks if you invite them with “performer” permissions