This Feature replaces one user in an application with another user. It allows application administrators to transfer all instance and task permissions within an application from one user to another. It is also possible to transfer permissions that a user has in a specific role to another user.

 

This is helpful if a user terminates their employment, is temporarily unavailable, or if there have been organizational changes.

 

You find the Replace user functionality in the panel to your right under Application configuration.

 

Note: This function will never change permissions for completed or new instances, but will give the new user access to closed instances for viewing and monitoring.


 


In order to make these changes function correctly, the administrator must complete a final step to ensure that the new user's permissions will also receive permissions for instances created in the future. Depending on how the roles were configured when the process was deployed, there are two ways to do this which will be explained below:

 

If the role was configured with groups:

If a group was added to the role in the role configuration, the only thing the administrator has to do is to add the new user, John Doe in the example, to the group configured in the role configuration.


Note: It is best practice and highly recommended to always add groups in the role configuration. 

 

In the example below we have two roles: Manager and Hr Managers. Configured on these roles are two groups: Managers and HR Managers.


 

In the example,  the old user was included in the group Managers. To change this, navigate to Space settings and Groups and open the group Managers and add the new user and remove the old user.

 

Note: If the process model doesn't include any further assignments (e.g., assign from form field) the only thing the administrator will have to do is to add the new user to the group. The new user will get access to tasks in active instances when added to the group.


If the role was configured with a single user:

In the example above, we transferred the old user’s rights to the new user. This means we have to go through the process and re-deploy it in order to change the old user to the new user.


 

This image shows the initial role configuration where the old user, Jane Doe, is configured in the role of Manager


This image shows the updated role configuration where we transferred the role of Manager to the new user, John Doe.

 

 

.