Attachments Folder is a field that is available to use in forms that shows a the content of a specific folder in the instances content folder. The people who have access to the form can upload, update and delete the files inside that folder directly from the form.
Default configuration settings
The Attachment Folder will be added as filed in the form with a couple of default configuration settings.
Folder is the name of the folder in the Content Folder where all files that are uploaded to the field will be saved. Attachments is the default value but you can write anything you like in that field. The folder will automatically be created in the content folder when the first file is uploaded if it does not already exist. If a folder with that name already exists then files will added to that folder. If you add any files to the folder by uploading them in the content folder, then the files will also be shown in the Attachment Folder field in the form.
The configuration settings hideInVewModes, hideInStates, lockInViewModes and lockInStates all work as exprected for the Attachment Folder field. By default the setting hideInViewModes=PRINT is added to the field. The viewMode PRINT is a default viewmode that is used when downloading a form as a PDF (if that option has been activated for the process app). Any fields that have the setting to be hidden in the viewMode PRINT will be hidden in the PDF version of the form. You may of course remove the settings but we do recommend that this field stay hidden when printing since it does not look that good on paper.
The Attachment Folder cannot be used when viewing the form from a Start Event. In order for the Attachment Folder to work an instance must be created and in the Start Event an instance has not yet been created. Therefore the default configuration setting lockInStates=CREATE is added to the field which is the default state that forms are in when being viewed from a Start Event. You can of course remove it but the field will show an error message and not work in your Start Event.
Other configuration settings
If you want to allow people to see files but not allow them to add, update or delete the files in the field.This is useful when you want to give people access to read files without giving them access to the Content Folder.
Please Note! If the field is locked in a viewmode but the person has access to the content folder, it will be possible to add, update and delete files in the content folder that are shown in the locked Attachment Folder field.
Using the Attachment Folder
The Attachment Field makes it possible to upload new files, delete existing files and update existing files with new versions of the file.
NOTE: All attached files will be available in the Content Folder in the Task View shown in relation to the form, but can't be deleted from this view.
You can upload any kind of file format to the Attachment Folder, but the maximum size of the file cannot exceed 20 MB. You can either drag and drop one or more files onto the Drop Zone which is always shown on the bottom of the field. Or you can upload files by clicking on the upload icon. This is useful for older web browsers or for people who prefer to use that way of working.
NOTE: There are some files with extensions that are considered unsafe to download, due to that they can potentially concealed information harmful to the user . We do not recommend to upload files with following extensions.
".A6P", ".AC", ".AS", ".ACR", ".ACTION", ".AIR", ".APP", ".APP", ".AWK", ".BAT", ".CGI", ".CMD", ".COM", ".CSH", ".DEK", ".DLD", ".DS", ".EBM", ".ESH", ".EXE", ".EZS", ".FKY", ".FRS", ".FXP", ".GADGET", ".HMS", ".HTA", ".ICD", ".INX", ".IPF", ".ISU", ".JAR", ".JS", ".JSE", ".JSX", ".KIX", ".LUA", ".MCR", ".MEM", ".MPX", ".MS", ".MSI", ".MST", ".OBS", ".PAF", ".PEX", ".PIF", ".PRC", ".PRG", ".PVD", ".PWC", ".PY", ".PYC", ".PYO", ".QPX", ".RBX", ".REG", ".RGS", ".ROX", ".RPJ", ".SCAR", ".SCR", ".SCRIPT", ".SCT", ".SHB", ".SHS", ".SPR", ".TLB", ".TMS", ".U3P", ".UDF", ".VB", ".VBE", ".VBS", ".VBSCRIPT", ".WCM", ".WPK", ".WS", ".WSF", ".XQT"
To delete a file from the field and the folder that the field has been configured to use is done by hovering over the file and clicking on the trash can icon that shows up on the far right hand side of the file. The user will be asked to confirm whether or not (s)he is sure that the file is to deleted and upon confirming the file will be deleted.
If you upload a file with the same name you will be asked whether you want to overwrite the existing file with the new one or if you want to the file as a new file. If you choose to add the file as a new file it will be uploaded and its name will be given a number (beginning at 1) to the end of the file name so that the files have unique names.
If there already is a file with the same name the dialogue seen above will show up.
For more information about how to work with tasks, please follow the link below: