New task view

The new task view has a default appearance, but you are allowed to customize its components to make it suit the type of task and/or performer. So far you can also choose to keep the old task view.


The new task view has a cleaner and more intuitive appearance, and is much easier to learn for new users.


Task view with default settings


Configure the Complete task button

In the Application configuration settings under the Advanced tab you can pick a new name for the Complete task button and disable the confirmation dialogue when pushing the button.


Configure the task view for different roles

The task view appearance is configured for each role, which means that one application can have multiple task view appearances.


1. Create a process application or open the Participant configuration of an existing one.


2. Add the accounts as usual.


3. Expand the Advanced settings for one of your roles.



4. A list of options for the task view is shown, here is how they work:


Use the new task view
Default: ON
This setting enables the "new Task View" instead of the old one

Display right menu panel
Default: ON

If not selected the whole right panel is hidden, this could be useful for seldom users since it narrows everything done giving the focus on just the task itself.


004_-_HideRightPanel.png
The task view with a hidden right panel


Show comments

Default: ON

When this option is active the section Comments will be available in the task view. Here task performers can access all comments connected to the task or the instance. 


Comments shown


Comments hidden



Enable task lock

Default: ON

When this option is active the button Task lock will be available in the task view. Using this feature tasks can be locked for editing by any other than the performer who locked the task.

ShowComments.png

Task lock enabled


Task lock disabled


Enable share button

Default: ON

When this option is active the button Share will be available in the task view. Using this button, task performers can choose to share the tasks to other users with different permission levels: View, Edit or Perform. A task shared to someone else will be visible in his or her inbox.

ShowComments.png

Share button enabled


Share button disabled


Allow assign

Default: ON

If the checkbox Enable share button is checked you can choose to allow or deny users the option to reassign their current and future tasks for an instance to someone else. Reassigning tasks is a useful feature for those processes where performersshould be able to choose, for themselves, who should be part of the role instead.

NOTE: Users with Edit or Full Control rights on the process application will always have permission to assign if the share feature is enabled.


Enable content folder

Default: ON

When this option is active there will be a link to the Content folder, containing forms and documents, in the menu. 


Content folder enabled


Content folder disabled


Enable process model

Default: ON

When this option is active there will be a link to the Process model in the menu. 


Process model enabled


Process model disabled


Enable task overview

Default: ON

When this option is active, an area called Overview will be the first page that appear in the task view. It contains all sorts of information regarding the task, as well as text annotations and selected form field data. 

ShowComments.png

Task overview enabled


Task overview disabled


Show the task overview by default

Default: ON

This setting decides what in the task view is shown when first approaching the task view. When this option is active the task overview is the landing page for the Task View, else the form template will be shown. 

NOTE: As long as you have enabled the overview, it will always be available from the right panel, even if you choose not to show it at start.


Enable timeline

Default: ON

Read more about the Activity Log further down in the article.


Timeline enabled


Timeline disabled


Replace list button with home button

Default: ON

This replaces the List button icon with a Home button icon and, if clicked on, redirects the user to the space start page. This is useful for seldom users.


List button enabled


Home button enabled


Activate link to instance overview

Default: ON

When this option is active the name of the instance becomes a link to the instance overview for the specific instance. 


Link to instance overview active


Link to instance overview deactivated


5. Complete the advanced settings for every performer.


Activity Log BETA

The task view is being improved for every release, and in January we added an Activity Log as well as a related feature that allows performers to comment on tasks, forms and other objects. When enabled, the Activity Log is found in the menu on the right-hand side, and comment fields will show upp below the task overview and below every object in the content folder. The Activity Log summarizes everything that has ever happened in the instance, such as task history, document history and comments, and gives a good overview of who has done what in the instance.



The two Activity Log features, Activity log and Comments, are activated per performer just like in step number 4 above. As long as the Activity Log is a beta feature, you need to contact Barium Live Support to get access to those two checkboxes.


Try out the beta version

To get access to the beta version, please contact Barium Live Support who will activate the Activity Log for a space of your choice. 

NOTE: The Activity Log will probably change a bit before the final release, so please do not build entire processes around it yet. You are welcome to give us feedback, but we do not give direct support related to beta features. Also, the Activty Log has not yet been translated entirely into German.


Keep the old task view

Applications created before November 2012 automatically keep the old task view, but they can have the new task view turned on at any time. As long as at least one performer uses the old task view, a warning will be displayed recommending the new task view.


It is also possible to keep the old task view when creating new applications.